Interview with fantasy author Gary Vanucci

In this latest interview we caught up with well-established fantasy author Gary Vanucci, a writer whose objective is to remove us from day-to-day life and spin head first into the epic worlds that he so skilfully creates…..

Gary, for those who have yet to get hold of a copy of your books, can you offer a description or taster of what readers can expect?

Sure thing! I have created what I hope is an engaging and detailed world wherein the main characters engage in their daily activities. There is definitely a lot to digest, but in a good way. I would have them expect to be completely entertained, to forget about the troubles in their own lives and live vicariously through the rich characters I’ve created.

How and when did you get started as a writer and what inspires you to write?

I started off and on around 1998-99. Started writing a sci-fi novel, but it did not complete as I lost interest in the genre. Fantasy however, I began to write in 2010 and have never looked back. I feel that I have many stories to tell and cannot wait to get them out there to the general public. I really feel that the stories are compelling and entertaining and if I can get some exposure, I can develop a reader base.

Have you always been a fan of the fantasy genre? What made you decide to write in this genre and which fantasy books do you enjoy reading yourself?

I LOVE fantasy. I cannot state that enough. Especially the Forgotten Realms. I‘ve read horror, comic books/superhero/graphic novels, Sci-Fi, murder/mysteries, but good fantasy is where I get lost. And that is what I want from a book, to escape reality for a few hours at a time.

“When a dangerous artifact goes missing from a temple, the elderly high priest in charge concludes that he needs help. He requests aid in the form of a one-time apprentice who is now an Inquisitor among the Order of the Faceless Knights. Garius Forge assembles an eclectic team among his potential candidates and then sets out on his quest. He is aided by the wise-cracking Rose, a rogue among rogues, by the stoic and battle-hungry Saeunn, and by a naive elf named Elec, who reluctantly agrees to accompany them at the behest of the persuasive Inquisitor. The fledgling heroes set out to recover the artifact before it falls into the hands of its former master, a malevolent entity capable of destroying Wothlondia and the  entire Realm of Ashenclaw!” 

One of your books on Amazon is a collaboration. What benefits can be had from collaborating on projects with other authors?

Well, I don’t quite have collaboration yet, but it will be released very shortly and I can let you know afterwards! I do belong to a writer’s circle and hope that the benefits of that would include cross-promotion and great support among other things.

What are you currently working on or what can we expect next?

Well, the anthology/collaboration will be out in the next week or so and my next full length novel will be released (hopefully before or around Christmas time). It is book 4 in the series, which will shift gears from Beginnings to something else, but is still a continuation. This one will follow Secrets of the Ebonite Mines and will tentatively be titled Dance of Deceit.

What are the major challenges that you have faced in your writing career?

I thought the writing would be the biggest challenge, but in all honesty, that had turned out to be the easy part. The hard part is trying to develop a fan-base and to find readers. There is so much out there that it is really difficult to get noticed, even if your work is good or better than average. None of it matters unless they can find you.

What do you advise new writers to do? Regarding best practice or writing tips.

Quit while you’re ahead :) Just kidding. Keep writing, research your craft, learn something with every mistake and grow a thick skin. It’s tough out there. I know from my own personal experience that my prose, writing style, POV shifts and general storytelling abilities have grown significantly over the last two years, so keep at it!

Getting a self-published book noticed and into the hands of readers can be tough. Could you offer our readers any tips/hints or advice on promotion or marketing?

Not really. Join all of the usual haunts, try to be engaging, try not to annoy people (very difficult when trying to sell something) and really try to help others. Can’t stress the ‘helping others’ thing enough.

What is your opinion on the power and potential of social media? Do you use the likes of Twitter, Facebook, etc to connect with fans and promote your work?

I use all of ‘em. But, I honestly do not know if it truly works or not. I mean, it has to a little bit, but I couldn’t tell you how to go about it. It’s different for everyone I would think.

Who did you get to do your cover design, eBook formatting/conversion to Kindle etc. and editing…was this all outsourced or did you do some yourself?

I format the book myself. My editor is Stephanie Dagg, a writer and editor from France and my artwork is done by fellow author and Skulldust Circle writer, William Kenney.

Where can readers pick up a copy of your book from and what formats are available?

Kindle and CreateSpace. Google me or stop by my Amazon page. I will be going elsewhere once my KDP Select is up on Amazon I think. amazon.com/author/garyvanucci

Many thanks for taking the time to speak to us today.

Thanks for having me on and let me know if anyone has any questions that I might be able to help out with

Leave a Reply

