Author Megan Elizabeth Bares All For A New Blog Tour

Megan Elizabeth is one of the most exciting authors to appear on the book scene in some time. Her first book, “Sinners Craving: League of the Fallen,” was picked up by Satalyte Publishing earlier this year, and since its release in July, it has been moving quickly up the scales as one of the most interesting fantasy novels of the year.

Megan, herself, is driven to succeed with the kind of determination rarely seen in the world today. She lives in New York City and certainly has a ‘New York State of Mind’ when it comes to success. With “Sinners Craving” climbing the bestseller listings, she has nothing to worry about. Several major publishers are interested in her new novel slated for release in 2015.

megan elizabeth

What was the hardest part of writing “Sinners Craving?”

The hardest part about writing a book like “Sinner’s Craving” is handling multiple plot lines and making sure they all tie together. Since this book is part of a series, as a writer you need to plot in advance allowing for certain scenes to play out even though they’re not significant until books that come later on. It’s a way to keep readers interested and to have a bit of fun with the characters.

What did you enjoy most about writing “Sinners Craving?”

When I started writing “Sinner’s Craving,” it was a way to take readers into my world; but as I continued writing, I got lost in the scenes and characters. Writing takes me out of everyday life and puts me in the world of magic and imagination, where I would prefer to spend most of my days. That is what I loved most about writing “Sinner’s Craving.” I left the stress of the real world behind and could just focus on the story.

Are there vocabulary words or concepts in your book that may be new to readers? Define some of those.

Well, I can say that you won’t need a dictionary to read “Sinner’s Craving.” My vocabulary is pretty straight forward. I do slip in a few fun terms like slhore which is the word slut and whore combined. But the context of it is pretty funny and well explained. I find that when I am reading a book, I hate it when I come across words that I’m not sure of. It slows down the pacing, and I get stuck on that one word. So I try not to do that in my writing.

Are there under-represented groups or ideas featured in your book? If so, discuss them.

I find that my combination of Fallen Angels and Greek Gods has yet to be done in the paranormal/urban fantasy world, which is what makes “Sinner’s Craving” so unique in those respective genres

Are there misconceptions that people have about your book?

I find that when I say that I use Fallen Angels, people automatically think that there is some form of religion in my books, which is so not the case. They’re warriors who happen to have wings; they are flawed in many different ways. There is a classic touch of good verse evil, but this is just an action-packed Urban Fantasy that was written to entertain.

What is the biggest thing that people THINK they know about your subject/genre, that isn’t so?

Well, there are two things. First, they assume that when I say I write urban fantasy or paranormal that it has to be about Vampires or Shifters. In reality, urban fantasy uses so many more species then just Vamps or Shifters, which I love. The second is that many people say that urban fantasy is a dying genre, let me be clear. Not only do I write urban fantasy, but I am a huge fan as well, and I personally can tell you that the fan base for this genre will never go away. We are voracious readers and are always looking for more.

What is the most important thing that people DON’T know about your subject/genre, that they need to know?

I think that people get caught up in the magical elements of my genre, which can be amazing. What most fail to realize is that the romance in these stories is utterly compelling. It all you desire to see in different ways, from the animalistic to the lightest touch—it is all right there.

What inspires you?

For me, inspiration comes in many different forms. From my will to strive to do better, to show my family and son that dreams can come true if you work for it. It also comes in many different mundane things, like a funny conversation with a friend or a good book that inspires you to try to write a different genre. People watching or even imagining wonderful things for themselves can turn into an amazing novel.

How did you get to be where you are in your life today?

My life has had many unexpected twists and turns. Not all good, but always a learning experience. I find that had I not gone through some tough times that I wouldn’t be inspired to write or be able to write the emotion that comes through my books.

Who are some of your favourite authors you feel were influential in your work? What impact have they had on your writing?

My favourite author of all time is Kresley Cole. She is essentially responsible for my desire to write. While I love other authors like JR Ward (The Warden), Sherrlyn Kenyon, and Gena Showalter, it is Kresley Cole who I truly admire. Her world building is amazing, and she uses different species in her books, which are fascinating as she moulds them to her stories. I find that her talent inspires me to write better and strive for more as a story teller.

What did you find most useful in learning to write? What was least useful or most destructive?

Learning to write is an on-going process. As you continue, you are constantly evolving as a writer, improving and finding different ways to make your writing more interesting. The most useful tool I found in learning how to write is actually reading. Funny as that many sound, reading great authors give you the opportunity to see how they break down their stories, describe scenes and give a flawless delivery. As a writer, you are choosing to put yourself out in the public and allow them into your world. Some people will love it and some will hate it. The most destructive thing you can do for your writing is only hear the negative comments. Use constructive criticism to make you a better writer, but anything else needs to roll off your shoulders. That, of course, is easier said than done.

Are you a full-time or part-time writer? How does that affect your writing?

This is a tricky question. I am a write-whenever-I-can-and-as-much-as-I-can writer. While I’d love to say that all I do is write, it wouldn’t be the truth. I am a multitasking monster and continue to juggle many different things. I believe that if I didn’t have so much on my plate, I would get so much more accomplished. But at the moment, I’m taking it one day at a time, and someday all I’ll do is write.

What are some day jobs that you have held? If any of them impacted your writing, share an example.

Let’s see… I’ve been a mortgage broker, a receptionist, a hotel manager, a front desk agent, food and beverage manager, sales manager, waitress and, most recently, a pre-school teacher. I’m not in the habit of jumping from job to job; I’ve just been working since I was fifteen, so you can imagine the list of professions that one can go through from teenager to college graduate. In truth, it has impacted my writing. In one of my books, my heroine starts out a waitress. It’s one thing to write a fictional character; it’s quite another to understand the ins and outs of what they do and how they themselves would think about it.

For those interested in exploring the subject or theme of your book, where should they start?

If you would like to get to know my book “Sinner’s Craving,” you can find it on Goodreads, Amazon and the Barnes & Noble website. You can also find info about my characters and upcoming books on my website at http://www.meganelizabethauthor.com. I hope you stop by and explore.

How do you feel about ebooks vs. print books and alternative vs. conventional publishing?

At first, I was one of those purists who believed that nothing could compare to how a book felt in your hands. Then, after stacks and stacks of books began to overwhelm my house, I received my first e-reader as a gift and hint to de-clutter. I love being able to download all the books I want and not have to take a trip to the store. Believe me, I used to be at the store multiple times a week buying multiple books, so I can see how ebooks are taking over through sheer convenience.

I think that every author has their own view of how they would like their books to be published. Both self-publishing and traditional publishing have their perks and downfalls. If you self-publish, there is no one telling you “no, your book is not good enough.” It is also a way for authors to take total control of their work and run their careers the way they see fit, which I must admit is very appealing. The downfall of self-pub is there is also a lot of garbage coming out as well, which is leading readers to hang tight to the traditional publishing world. Again, while with traditional publishing there is a certain amount of notoriety and validation for your work, it is a very tough nut to crack and actually get into. I myself am a traditional publishing kind of writer. I want my work to be edited again and again, to be truly polished by professionals. That way I am confident that I am putting out the best work I feel I can do.

What do you think is the future of reading/writing?

Well, I think that ebooks will continue to grow as the way that people get their reading fix. As far as whether or not self-publishing will take over or traditional publishing will continue to reign, I honestly don’t know. I think I’m hoping for co-existence.

What process did you go through to get your book published?

Writing and publishing a book is a very long, slow process, which is a serious test in patience—not my strongest virtue. I am an instant gratification kind of girl. However, first, obviously, I completed the novel, had it edited, then edited two more times. After that, I started on the long, tedious process of submitting it to publishing houses. It was a matter of playing the waiting game. Many houses take an average of six to eight weeks to get back to an author. The best way to get your name to the top of the list is to attend pitch sessions at a writing conference.

What makes your book stand out from the crowd?

Never before has another author mixed Fallen Angels and Greek Mythology in a way that works for the story. In my books, you will find it totally works and is completely entertaining.

How do you find or make time to write?

Admittedly, it is difficult to find all the time I want to write. I find that I do most of my writing late at night when the house is quiet, and I can concentrate on the task at hand.

Do you write more by logic or intuition, or some combination of the two? Summarize your writing process.

My writing process is as follows: plot, plot and plot some more. Then I start writing, and my beautiful outline and plot go right out the window, and I write the story as it flows intuitively out of me. Many times when I’m outlining, I haven’t gotten into my characters fully; but by the time I start writing, the characters have changed the story on their own, and it transforms into something that I utterly love.

What are some ways in which you promote your work? Do you find that these add to or detract from your writing time?

To promote my work I have done interviews such as this one, appeared on radio and podcasts. It helps to be able to work with someone like Nick Wale, my PR guru. He is the one who tells me all the different ways to promote, like Goodreads, Amazon reviews and banner advertisements across blogger’s websites. I’m also on social media, more dominantly FaceBook, but I also have Twitter and Instagram. I find that it’s so very important to promote your work. No one is going to buy a book they have no knowledge of. And the best investment you can make is in yourself.

 

 

Megan Elizabeth puts sexy back into fantasy and combines love and evil to create Matteaus…

Get your copy today

sinners craving image

Leave a Reply

