Princess Fumi Hancock Explains Why It Is Important To Be “Of Sentimental Value”

Princess Fumi Hancock. An award-winning movie-maker. Bestselling author. Screenwriter. Doctor. Talented in a multitude of ways and driven to succeed… But what is her secret? Let’s find out!

1. Quickly, give us the title and genre of your book and a short tagline:

Of Sentimental Value

“One Event Can Change Your Life Forever!”

2. Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?

Few weeks ago, we received a dove foundation seal for the accompany movie, of Sentimental Value the Movie

fumi pic 2 fumi pic 1

The novel however, I would recommend to 18+ and up. In addition, readers who enjoy mystery and romantic suspense.
Why should they read the book? Wow! Great question. Simply stated: It not only promises to entertain and inform but will absolutely inspire, motive, empower and encourage our readers that no matter what their circumstances, no matter what their culture, tradition, creed, ONE EVENT CAN CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER!… They can make it regardless of what their surroundings may dictate… It reminds them of their self worth, their value, and that they were created for such a time as this … to impact their world regardless of what they may have gone through. Through the lead character SIBERIA TONKA, my readers will be inspired to reach for the stars… never allow any set back to be their set up for failure but a stepping stone to their success.

3. How did you come up with the title of your book or series?

As someone who have endured abuse, a failed marriage and watched people around me succumb to major depression and suicide ideation and even found myself contemplating that at some point in my life several years ago after a failed marriage at a very young age; I began picking up the shattered pieces of my life with my then 3½ and 1 ½ year old sons as hard as it was. In those dark moments, I began asking hard questions why I survived! I looked around and heard stories of those who could not handle life and gave in to their sorrows. After fessing up to my parents, they reminded me of my worth… of the values they had instilled in me growing up as an Africa Princess in Africa… they showed me through unconditional love and acceptance that I was valuable and that no human being had a right to make me insignificant. As I healed, I then started wondering what if those who had taken their lives had people who would remind them of who they were? What if they did not allow themselves to be stripped of their value? Bam! I REMEMBER LOOKING IN THE MIRROR, SAYING TO MYSELF “YOU ARE OF SENTIMENTAL VALUE”. That phrase took me through some rough patches and behind my secret mantra. Hence, the title of the book and a screenplay which was originally written before 2000! Little did I know the impact it will have and its relevance now in 2014 when it has now been made into a feature film. I am so happy to announce that the movie and myself have won some awards:= such as the African heritage Leadership Awards and the following:

fumi pic 4 fumi pic 3

fumi pic 5

4. Tell us a little bit about your cover art. Who designed it? Why did you go with that particular image/artwork?

fumi pic 7 fumi pic 6

Readers who are familiar with my work know by now that I love things unique… I have a thing for “eyes” and intense images that draw readers into the story without even racking the book open yet. I believe my books have followed this trend and will continue to do so. What better way to continue this tradition by finding an award winning cover artist who indulges all of my fantasies. She is no other than the owner of http://phatpuppyart.com/ She continues to do an incredible job at interpreting my “head fantasies” and brig them to live as she has done for several Award winning authors.

5. Who is your favorite character from your book and why?

I know many may expect me to shout out the female lead character, Siberia Tonka. Since the release of the book and the two screenings we have had with the movie, I believe I have a change of mind… Argh! “JESSICA” the nosy Hispanic neighbour has really grown on me. While it was my original intent to have her bring comic relief to the story, I didn’t realize how funny she was until we were at the private screening in Los Angeles, CA and I began hearing people laugh out loud with everything Jessica did. She is one of those characters you hate to have close to you, yet need in your life to bring a clearer perspective to hardships around us. Jessica’s character was not only a friend even when Siberia was not lovable, but we are able to see some flaws others may have around us and her dynamics with Siberia shows us the importance of friendship, especially when chaos is running rampage in our lives. Though crazy with few crazy “thinking”, she is also inspirational and a welcome friend to Siberia. More importantly, she says things most people will dread saying out loud ad does not apologize for them. I won’t spoil it for you… will have you read the book instead. Better yet, the trailer can give you some clues into who Jessica is: http://www.ofsentimentalvaluemovie.com / http://www.ofsentimentalvaluenovel.com

6. How about your least favorite character? What makes them less appealing to you?

“Jessica”~ Awgh! The attributes which make her funny are the same ones, which make her sometimes less appealing. She is a nosy neighbour who thinks because she lives next to you, she has a say in everything you do! While that attitude may be cute most times, there are certainly times, which it is not welcomed. Such is the case at the mailbox when she jumps Siberia to butt into her business. Find out what happened there… clues can be found on the trailer.

7. If you could change ONE thing about your novel, what would it be? Why?

Writers are often known to beat down on themselves and are known to be hard on themselves where their writing is concerned. With every writing, I do my very best to portray what my message is as clearly as possible. I may not always get it right at all times but I try. Having said that and knowing that my personality is that of a “type A”, if given a chance could stay on just one line for hours attempting to fix it; I promised myself I will never go back rethinking things. Rather, I will always resolve in my heart that with each novel, I have given my very best. I understand that not everyone will like what I have written and not every novel will catch fire or readers’ interest right away. Nevertheless, I must move forward and be even better with the next novel. It is certainly my hope that Of Sentimental Value will catch fire alongside the movie! It is indeed my labor of love to my readers. And I can’t wait to hear what you all have to say about it.

8. Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series:

Fun fact eih? Making the novel into a movie and being on my very first set was the most fun part of it all. If I knew what I know now, I would have had a hidden camera rolling throughout the whole days of shoot. It will have certainly been the most rated and highly viewed reality show that ever hit the airwaves. Can you imagine waking up to a call one day and it was your producer on the other end, telling you that one of the crew-members high jacked the main camera for shoot! Her reason, she suddenly did not like the director and wanted another director! Today, the whole experience seemed funny but back there it was certainly not and was incredibly unbelievable!
9. What other books are similar to your own? What makes them alike?
Here is what I discovered on amazon.com; people who purchases and/or viewed my book also viewed the following: Dark Child (The Awakening) by Adina West, Bad Blood (A Vampire Thriller) by J.R. Rain, the Faerie Guardian by Rachel Morgan. What they may have in common you asked? Well, in Of Sentimental Value, there is a mystery woman who ricks havoc into the lives of people. This character brings the air of mystery and suspense into the book. The mentioned books range from mystery to thriller.

10. Do you have any unique talents or hobbies?

I design most of my clothes and purses I carry to my outings. This is something I hope to one day expand one as I continue to meet with people who want to have some of my collections. I call them the Sassy Jewel Collection. Here is my look-book for your eyes only:

 

fumi pic 8
Her Majesty’s Collection

fumi pic 10 fumi pic 9

The Splice of Life Collection

Can’t a gal dream?

11. How can we contact you or find out more about your books?

Easy…

http://www.ofsentimentalvaluenovel.com

http://www.ofsentimentalvaluemovie.com

You can also check me out on my TV Talk Show, the Princess in Suburbia Lifestyle
http://www.princessinsuburbia.com which is rapidly garnering more viewings. We are currently at over 2.4 million and growing!

My Official Website: http://www.worldoffumihancock.com

12. What can we expect from you in the future?

My brain is just now settling down as we are in the phase of distribution for the movie. An corky idea is brewing in my head right now for another novel and a movie…more romantic suspense with a splice of comedy. Get ready… This will happen in an exotic place… you all know how I love my exotic places like Africa. But before I get into that, I will be releasing the sequel to the bestselling Young Adult Fantasy, The Adventures of Jewel Cardwell. I can’t wait.. It’s been long coming! The Sorcerer’s Purgatory is next in line.

13. What can readers who enjoy your book do to help make it successful?

Spread the word… and the message: “I Am… Of Sentimental Value! One Event Can Change Your Life Forever!” Share the trailer… purchase the e-book as well as the softcopies… Encourage others to do the same. Start book-clubs / private “girlfriend empowering” parties on its behalf both virtual and on-ground. Oh, yes tag and like it on amazon.
http://www.amazon.com/Fumi-Hancock/e/B009BHBI6S/

Trailer: http://youtu.be/6Nfpf3S_aGE

Like Us on Our Social Media:
http://www.twitter.com/fumihancock
http://www.facebook.com/ofsentimentalvalue
http://www.facebook.com/fumihancockgrimmlyn

Tools they can use to make it go viral:

Enjoy the reviews and events surrounding the official book launch and movie private screening:

Beverly Hills, CA and Nashville, TN – You can share these links with friends and family.

fumi pic 11Hollywood Meets Royalty in Nashville TN

fumi pic 12

Few of the cast and family members at the event

 

Sold Out Events:

Beverly Hills, CA: http://youtu.be/D4HlAjuwJEE

Nashville, TN: http://youtu.be/s0LlaKZyI7Y

Video Reviews:

THANK YOU….

14. Do you have any tips for readers or advice for other writers trying to get published?

Simply stated! Write! Write! Write! And keep writing! Be disciplined! Be focused and never give up. The teacher will appear when the student is ready. Other steps will come into clarity as you first step –out.

15. Is there anything else you’d like to say?

It’s been a pleasure finally getting to do what I love…writing. This has been a journey of over 30 years. Years of discouragement with many times dropping my pen and promising I would never write again… years of few telling me it is a rat race and I would never be discovered! So after years of pity party, I got up and told myself the only think I would loose is just the piece of paper and the ink I needed. If I didn’t make money off if my writing, I knew I would still be writing. Now, I not only get to write novels but also screenplays, which are being made into movies! Persistence, resilience, focus, determination and dedication….all tools of the trade. I thank all of my readers, bloggers, reviewers who continue to help push my book into a bestseller category. I know with your help, we can make the message of hope restored embedded in this story reach the universe. Just like one of my reviewers said, everyone needs this message… That you are Of Sentimental Value… This novel is a reminder and my characters are the messengers. More importantly, I want to let my readers know that whenever they pick up any of my books or items from my store, they are helping save a life in Africa through my US based 501©3 non profit organization: http://www.adassafoundation.org Join me in providing quality education and healthcare to women and children in developing countries.

16. And now, before you go, how about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us:

Excerpt:

“Come, come Si-be-ria. Yes, that’s right, come to me now!”
Her resounding evil laughter increases with the anticipation of doom lurking in the murky night. Suddenly, her phantomlike image is swallowed by the dusk. Just when I am about to breathe a sigh of relief, Yemoji’s face reappears! Only this time, her limpid brown eyes begin to blink rapidly; morphing into a grayish set of eyes in distress, with the different, yet familiar, face of Naiya, you know her by now… that’s right, my older sister! How could this be, thinking out loud? But then again, stranger things have been known to happen in my village. Before I could figure out if it was really my sister’s face, the alarming tick-tock sound began yet again, the disconcerting image of Naiya abruptly disappearing. I am now left in the pitch black!

Pick up your copy now and let’s make this a movement:

fumi pic 7

 

fumi pic 13
Princess (Dr.) Fumi S. Hancock
Bestselling Author, African Oscar & Indiefest Award Winning Filmmaker, Transformation Interventionist & a Philanthropist providing quality education & healthcare in developing countries (Africa).

Leave a Reply

